The Certification Network

DBO, OCA, OCP, OCM and JDEV Oracle Certification types


What official Oracle certification tracks are available?

Oracle Offers the following Oracle Certification Tracks:
  • Oracle Database Operator (DBO)
    Database Operators assist DBAs with day to day operational issues like database startup and shutdown, installations, backup and recoveries, etc.
  • Oracle Certified Associate (OCA)
    Enables one to act as a junior team member working with database administrators or application developers.
  • Oracle Certified Professional (OCP)
    OCP candidates have proven skills for managing a large scale database or developing robust applications that are deployed enterprise-wide.
  • Oracle Certified Master (OCM)
    The highest level credential you can earn in the Oracle Certification Program. These people are senior level members of IT departments and are responsible for handling mission critical database systems and applications.
  • Internet Application Developer (Release 6 or 6i)
    Oracle developers using Oracle iDS (Internet Developer Suite) Forms and Reports.
  • Oracle Java Developer (JDEV)
    Developers using the Java platform. Oracle participates in the multi-vendor jCert Initiative.

What training is required before one can take an exam?

From Oracle 9i Oracle changed the requirements for some certification tracks to include training classes:

OCP - You need to attend one hands-on training class at Oracle University. See Oracle's web site for a list of courses.

OCM - You need to attend two advanced training classes at Oracle University. See Oracle's website for a list of courses.

All other tracks - No courses required. It might be a good idea to attend some relevant courses before taking an exam.


All content The Certification Network 2000-2025